top of page

LEATHERFACE (2017)(the origin of Leatherface)


 
 

A violent teen and three others kidnap a young nurse while escaping from a Texas mental institution. Pursued by a vengeful sheriff, the disturbed young man embarks on a murderous rampage that shapes him into a legendary killer known as Leatherface.

 

Starring:

Stephen Dorff Lili Taylor Sam Strike Sam Coleman Vanessa Grasse

 

Here is the red band trailer

 

There have been a total of eight films so far in the Texas Chainsaw Massacre Franchise:


The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2 (1986) Leatherface: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre III (1990) Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation (1994) The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003) The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning(2006) Texas Chainsaw 3D (2013) Leatherface (2017)

 

The first is an absolute masterpiece, & will always be my favorite horror movie of all time. I like all of the movies in this franchise, but some of them were really not that good.. But what has always bothered me about these films is the way they seem to keep changing up the story -it honestly gets a little confusing after a while. I watched them all in order once (with a few breaks here & there), and it was like they couldn't quite make up their mind what story they wanted to tell. But, because I love these films so much I let it go and moved on. The only thing that seemed to keep lingering in my head was the question of Leatherface's origin. Something obviously had to happen to make him turn out that way (other than having an insane hillbilly cannibal family)..

so even though the newest installment, Leatherface, is not my favorite out of all of the films, it finally answered my question, and helped to make Leatherface make sense!! This movie wan't "bad" at all, it had great acting, lots of action & tons of blood & gore...

But for me, the best part, is how totally misleading it is. I actually had a "HOLY SHIT!" moment & it changed everything about the film for me. Very, very nice little twist they threw in there. The downside is that it wasn't scary. Like, not at all. That was pretty disappointing for me because I love to be scared, and all of the others had at least a few moments of terror..this one, not so much...

The redeeming quality of the film is that genius plot twist though. That & the fact that we get to see every detail of what made "Leatherface", makes it worth watching!

bottom of page